Kids these days

12 07 2011

My wife and I are going to be parents in the very near future (hopefully before the end of month) and because of that my mind often wanders into the realm of parenting, and how I plan to raise my kid(s).  One thing that I’ve noticed over the past few months is how many kids (and adults) walk around with head phones in their ears and completely ignore the world around them.  I understand that sometimes people just don’t want to be bothered, but if someone starts doing this at  a young enough age then they will never learn how to interact with people.  When I was growing up I constantly asked questions about EVERYTHING.  I didn’t care who you were, or how well I knew you, if I thought you had an answer to something I wanted to know about I was gonna ask you.  And because of that I learned a lot, and I learned how to talk to people.

My point in writing this is that I think if kids don’t learn to socialize with both their peers, as well as people older than them then they are going to have a difficult time succeeding in the work place.  Everyone is going to need a job at some point and in order to get a job a person has to sell themselves to an employer.  If a person isn’t comfortable talking to people then this task becomes much more difficult.  If someone is seeking a job with 100 applicants and 20 of the resumes look the same then the person who gets the job is the one who interviews the best.  Networking is also huge in the world we live in, in a lot of cases who you know is more important than what you know.  I’ve had people approach me and strike up a conversation with me because they saw my company logo on my shirt, and I’ve done the same to others.  That wouldn’t happen if I had headphones on and vice versa.

In an effort to not sound like a hypocrite I admit I occasionally stick my face in front of my iPhone and play games  so I’m not going to act like I’m not guilty of doing any of the things I mentioned above.  I just hope I don’t use video games and headphones as a way of keeping my kid(s) busy when I’m too lazy to parent them instead.  I hope I can teach them to not be afraid to ask  questions and that people are people.  I might succeed or I might fail miserably but only time will tell.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

