God is funny that way.

22 12 2011

Over the last few days I’ve had a lot of time to reflect on things and one thing that has popped up multiple times is how I have always been drawn to the book of James in the Bible.  I can remember the exact time and place that I first read it and I remember liking it so much that I read the whole book in one sitting.  That was over 10 years ago and since then I have taught a few lessons to the kids in the youth group at church based on the teachings in that book.  Taking it straight from the book itself it starts out with:

2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3 because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. 4 Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

At the point in my life when I first read that I can honestly say I had never had anything major happen to me that I had to persevere through, but it still resonated with me, I just didn’t know why, until now.  God is funny that way I guess…  I’ve read this book countless times in the last 10 years and I never get tired of reading it, and I can definitely say that having these words stored away in my brain has helped immensely with all that we have gone through with Mason.  When I’ve read this in the past I always thought that I would have to persevere through something that happened to me directly, whether it be injury or sickness, I never thought it would be my son.  I know that through perseverance I will be a better man, a better father, a better husband, and a better christian, and I think that is what God wants.  No matter how bad things seem when you’re going through them, there is always something positive that you can take from them, sometimes it just takes time for it to be revealed to you.  I know in my heart God has great things planned for my son and in a very short period of time he has reached the hearts of so many and I don’t see that stopping any time soon.  In the mean time Crystal and I will persevere through whatever trials we face leaning on God for the strength that only He can provide for us and trusting in His will for our son!

Actions

Information

One response

22 12 2011
raymcdonald

Chris – my son – I am impressed with the wisdom God has given you. Your son – Mason – is a treasure. He has already touched so many and given you and Crystal many opportunities to witness your great faith in Jesus.

The Book of James is a great Epistle and there are many truths we can learn from it. I’m glad it has meant so much to you over the years and you can now see where its truths impact your life.

Selfishly I pray for a complete healing in our little man Mason. But I also pray that we will be prepared for whatever God allows to come our way and that we will persevere through it all – giving God the glory.

I love you guys and ANYTHING you need – just ask. Your earthly family – your church family – and all the saints of God are ready to help!

Leave a Reply

